ETA Players Selected 1st and 2nd Overall In 2018 OHL Priority Selection, News (Eastern AAA Hockey League)

PrintNews Article
Click to view full-size image
ETA Players Selected 1st and 2nd Overall In 2018 OHL Priority Selection
Submitted By Bill Schlitt on Saturday, April 07, 2018
Congratulations to all of the 47 ETA players selected in the 2018 OHL Priority Selection Draft on April 7th.
3 ETA players had the honour of being selected in the first round.

Leading the way and selected first overall was Quinton Byfield of the York Simcoe Express, chosen by the Sudbury Wolves. His Express teammate, Evan Vierling was selected 2nd overall by the Flint Firebirds. The Barrie Jr Colts’ James Hardie was also selected in the first round, 8th overall, by the Mississauga Steelheads.

Quinton Byfield joins ETA players Daniel Catenacci (York Simcoe Express), Steven Stamkos (Markham Waxers), John Hughes (Whitby Wildcats), Jay Harrison (Whitby Wildcats), Alyn McCauley (Kingston Frontenacs) and Jeff O’Neill (Richmond Hill Stars) as winners of the Jack Ferguson award, emblematic of a first overall OHL draft selection.

The ETA had 12 players chosen in the first 55 selections and once again the OMHA had more players selected than any other league or group with a total of 84 players being chosen among all 20 OHL teams.


Click here to see a list of all ETA players selected.

This article has been viewed 449 times.
2018-2019 Groups
2018-2019 Pages
Website Visit Counter
(3,157 per day)
News ArchiveOther Recent Articles
  • 28
    Congratulations to the 12 ETA alumni who were selected in the 2018 NHL Entry Draft. Two ETA players were first round selections led by  Barrett Hayton (Peterborough Minor Petes), selected 5th overall by the Arizona Coyotes, and Ty Dellandrea ...
  • 12
    Congratulations to the 10 ETA players selected in the 2018 OHL Under 18 Priority Selection Draft on April 11th. The Sudbury Wolves, who also had the first pick in the 2018 OHL (Under 16) Priority Selection, also selected an ETA player, North Central ...
  • 09
    The ETA along with the entire hockey community along with people all over the world mourns with the Humboldt Broncos, their families and their community as they struggle with the results of the tragic accident on April 6th. Our thoughts and prayers ...
  • 08
    The Whitby Wildcats capped off their season by winning the OHF Central Region Bantam AAA Championships bronze medal. The Wildcats defeated championship hosts North Central Predators in the bronze medal game. In the OHF Central Region Midget AAA ...
  • 04
    As the 2017/2018 season comes to a close the ETA Playoff Champions have been determined. Congratulations to all teams that were successful in capturing an ETA Championship for their division.
  • 26
    ETA teams continued their strong showing during the final weekend of the OMHA Championships. Overall the ETA garnered 7 of the 9 gold medals as well as 6 silver and 4 bronze medals.
  • 18
    After completion of the first 2 weekends of OMHA AAA Championship play ETA teams have captured 4 of 5 Championships.
  • 03
    The ETA/SCTA All Star game was played as part of the SCTA Minor Midget Showcase at the Seymour-Hannah Sports Complex in St. Catherines, Ontario.  Starting in goal for Team ETA Damon Beaver (Whitby Wildcats) and Team SCTA Connor Ogg (Niagara ...
Printed from on Thursday, October 18, 2018 at 8:58 PM