League Formation (Eastern AAA Hockey League)

PrintLeague Formation


The Eastern AAA Hockey League was founded August 8, 1990 under the direction of the  OMHA with the original centres of Kingston, Markham, Oshawa, Peterborough, Quinte, Richmond Hill-Vaughan and York Simcoe. The Constitution was approved and the League elected its first executive at its inaugural meeting at the Northview Community Centre, Oshawa, on July 24 1990. In it's very first season , 1990-91, it won three O.M.H.A. Championships: Minor Novice ( Markham ), Peewee ( Richmond Hill - Vaughan ) and Minor Bantam ( Oshawa ).

Whitby and Ajax-Pickering were admitted in 1991-1992 and Central Ontario came on board in the 1992-1993 season. In that year as well the League split into East and West Divisions. Kingston left the ETA at the end of the season to join the O.D.H.A. on a provisional basis.

The first League banquet was held in 1992 in Bowmanville and the first annual ETA Midget All-Star game was held at Oshawa on December 18th , 1993.

Barrie was admitted to the League in 1994-1995, North Central in 1996-1997 and Clarington in 1999-2000.

Kingston, now the Jr. Frontenacs, rejoined the ETA as of the 2007-2008 Season.